Europe: Day 7

Today was definitely one of my most memorable days here. We started off the morning waiting for the bus for a half hour (no surprise there), then heading back to Valkenburg and going to Agogo for some team laser tag and luging. Laser tag was actually a lot more fun than I expected. Actually, it’s probably the most fun playing laser tag I have ever had. They had it set up in a cave type place (it was the same material as the caves yesterday) and they just put a few barrels in there and some colored lights and a few pillars. I thought I wouldn’t like how open it was, but it kept you moving the whole time and it was a lot of fun! The teams were seniors and coaches vs sophomores and juniors…we might have lost…by a lot. haha. In our defense, I’m pretty sure Batman is an X Marine or something. His score was pretty much doubled of everyone on our team.

The next thing we did at Agogo was luging! It was so much fun!! It was the rolling ones (not ice) and it basically just looked like a big slide and you sat on the board and there was the brake between your legs, and you would just pull back to slow down or push forward to go faster. My first time down, I was just like “I want to go really fast. Let’s be honest they couldn’t make it so it’s dangerous, they have like 9 year old kids doing it” so I was leaned forward a lot and pushing forward and I was truckin’! At about the 5th curve, I started going really really fast and the curve was pretty sharp, and I kind of missed the sign cautioning you to break, and I ended up crashing. It was fine, I got a nice burn on my shoulder from where I skid up against the wall and a little burn on my thumb, but other than that, I was fine 🙂

After, we got checked into the hotel, got some food from the grocery store for a quick lunch, and then we headed back to Germany for our game against Borussia Monchengladbach…again, it was a rough game for us. Even though we haven’t been doing as well, I love watching these teams play because they are so skilled technically. It has been fun to just go out an play as well. I realize that we are never going to have the opportunity to play against any other teams like this, so even though I hate losing, I’m still enjoying playing here.

That night, we all went out to a place in Valkenberg just “hung out” for a while–coaches included.  It was what we needed after a long day and a long trip. When we got back, I had a really good conversation with my roommate, Sandra. Let me pause and say something about this hotel because it’s so different than any other hotel I have stayed at. So we are in room 504, but we are on the first floor and then 508-514 are on another floor and 515-524 or whatever are on another floor. All the rooms are in sections (like the 500 section, 600 section, etc.) rather than floors. A few of the girls on our team even have to walk outside on a patio type area to get to their front door. You also need to stick the key into a special slot in the room in order to get any of the electricity to work. It’s different. Anyway, back to Sandra, we had a really good heart to heart and learned a lot more about each other. That’s what’s been nice about this trip. I’ve roomed with people who I typically don’t hang out with outside of soccer, so I’ve had the chance to get to know some of my teammates better, which has been really nice and kind of refreshing. It was a long day though, so I’m going to bed. Peace out!

Kristina: sleepy

Laser Tagging. We mean business

Laser Tagging. We mean business

The luge track

The luge track

Getting ready to go!

Getting ready to go!

Outside our hotel in Valkenberg

Outside our hotel in Valkenberg

Team Pic with Borussia Monchengladbach

Team Pic with Borussia Monchengladbach

 

Hanging out with some teammates after a long day!

Hanging out with some teammates after a long day!

