Europe: Day 11

Today is our final day of this trip and it is going to be all traveling. We woke up at 5 in the morning, packed ourselves a breakfast, and hopped on the bus to go to the Dusseldorf airport. Aleksander was so cute. We were almost to the airport and he was like “it’s like the French say, “saying goodbye is like dying a little bit,” I had such a good time with all of you all, and if you are ever back in Holland, even if I am an old man, call me and we will get coffee. Goodbye!” I promise, it was a lot cuter than that, especially since he said it all in his thick dutch accent and old man voice.

Even though I only slept on the plane for one hour, I still had a really nice flight. It was good to just sit and relax and not have to do anything the whole time. I got some reading done, learned some spanish, watched a movie (Burt Wonderstein is a really weird movie…I don’t suggest it), and just hung out with Lauryn (my teammate).

This trip was definitely not what I was picturing, but I’m really glad I went. I think one of the hardest things for me was that I didn’t know the language and we didn’t have a lot of free time away from the big group, so it was really hard to talk to people and get a good feel for the culture. There are definitely places I want to go back to and take more time to look at in Holland and Germany (like Aachen and Maastricht) and other places in Holland and Germany that I want to go to for the first time as well (Amsterdam and Munich).

This summer of world traveling has taught me that there is always something more to see, learn, and understand in this world. I’m not content accepting things the way they are anymore because I am interested to learn WHY. We all have our basic human needs and desires that we live for, but we all pursue them differently. Learning about how we attain these needs in life and why we do things the way we do is the best way to learn about the world. I definitely have a new appreciation and desire to learn more and be immersed in different cultures. This is a summer that I will never forget. I have made so many friends, many memories, and I have learned so much about myself and about the world. I’ll never forget you, Summer 2013!

Kristina: world traveler

