Grilled Eggplant Recipe

I made this for dinner the other night!

First I sliced up some eggplant, sprayed a cooking tray, drizzled some olive oil on the eggplant and stuck it in the oven at 400 degrees (F) for about 15 minutes.

Then I took it out, sliced up some tomatoes, fresh mozzarella cheese, and basil and layered on top of the eggplant a slice or two of lunchmeat (I used honey smoked ham), a slice of tomato, mozzarella cheese, and then basil and then I popped it in for another 5 minutes.

When it came out of the oven, I put it on the plate, then drizzled it with some balsamic vinegar.

Overall, I really enjoyed it πŸ™‚

20130831-113121.jpg

Ingredients: (I used 3 slices of eggplant for about 1 serving–so the amount of ingredients you use will change based on how many servings you want or your personal preference of flavor)

1/3 large eggplant (sliced in about 1/2 inch discs)
6 slices of ham (meijer brand sliced lunchmeat)
1/2 large tomato
2oz of fresh mozzarella cheese
3 fresh basil leaves
2 teaspoons (about) of olive oil
cooking spray
1/4 c of balsamic vinegar

Oven set at 400.

Prep Time- 5 minutes
Cook Time- 20 minutes

Kristina: loving having a kitchen at school!

